REBNY has launched a new website. Please update your bookmarks.

Who are New York Residential Specialists?  

The New York Residential Specialist— NYRS®—designation is awarded by the Real Estate Board of New York—REBNY—and recognizes the business and educational achievements of qualified residential agents. NYRS® agents are members of an exclusive group of New York City real estate professionals committed to the highest level of education.  The NYRS® credential identifies those who have achieved an advanced level of study.

REBNY awards the NYRS® designation to the city’s leading residential real estate agents who have met qualifying criteria and have successfully completed the prescribed courses in real estate law, macro-economics, commercial real estate, ethics, negotiation, marketing, and technology.

Who is Eligible?

For enrollment eligibility, a candidate:

  • must be recommended by a Manager
  • must be an Associate Broker—the highest educational level for licensure by New York State
  • must have worked in residential real estate in NYC for a minimum of five years
  • must have closed a minimum of 50 transactions valued at a minimum of $50 million in sales, or the equivalent in rental transactions—all verified by the candidate’s brokerage firm 
Apply Now Renew Your Credentials Leadership Directory



Board of Advisers
Barbara Fox
Fox Residential Group

Tresa Hall
Executive Vice President
Director of Sales

Steven James
President Manhattan Brokerage
Douglas Elliman

Ellie Johnson
Senior Vice President
Brokerage Manager
Sotheby's International Realty

Elizabeth Ann Kivlan
Stribling & Associates

Shaun Osher
Chief Executive Officer

Frederick W. Peters
Warburg Realty Partnership

Diane Ramirez
Chief Executive Officer
Halstead Property

Hall F. Willkie

Brown Harris Stevens